ALLEGHANY COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT DEFERRED OR INSTALLMENT PAYMENT POLICY
EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2024

Pursuant to VA. Code Sections 19.2-349, 19.2-354 and 19.2-354.1, it is the responsibility of the Circuit Court to collect
fines, costs, etc. due the Commonwealth. The Court has assigned the Clerk with the duty of making arrangements with
defendants to collect these fees.

If your sole financial resource is a Social Security benefit or Supplemental Security Income, then you are not required to
pay until you have anotherresource orincome. Aslongas your sole income remains unchanged, youraccount will not go
to collections. Please understand that any restitution that you may have been ordered to pay is not included in this
exception of payment and is due as the Court has ordered.

Upon trial and sentencing, the Clerk will advise the defendant, either by mail or in person, a notice of fines, costs and
restitution owed and if any additional costs such as court appointed attorney fees, will be added to your account.

If the defendant is unable to pay the costs in full within thirty (30) days, the following will occur:

a) 90 days after the due date, the account will be sent to collections and a 17% collection fee will be assessed
against the account, and,

b) 180 days after the due date or, if the defendantisincarcerated, 180 days after the defendant’s release date,
the account will begin to accrue interest.

However, the defendant may satisfy payment of costs by requesting one of the following:

a) Enterinto aninstallment plan by making payments either weekly or monthly at a set rate;

b) Enterinto a deferred plan by paying costs in full on a future date;

c) Paythe coststhrough the performance of community service atarate of $12.00 per hour. Community service
shall be monitored by the probation officers. Community service cannot be applied to outstanding restitution
owed the Court.

d) Community service performed while adefendantisincarcerated must be verified by the Virginia Department
of Corrections. The defendantshallreceive a rate of $11.55 per hour for services performedafter 1/01/2023.

In the event the defendant does not comply with the terms of the payment agreement entered with this Court, the
account will be defaulted and will be subjecttointerestand collection fees as previously stated. The account will also be
sent to the Virginia Department of Taxation for collection purposes.

A defendant who has defaulted on their account may petition the Court for a “new time to pay agreement”. If the
defendantentersintoa subsequent payment agreement, the Court does require a down paymentto be received at the
time of filing the petitions, as follows:

a) |If the fines, costs, restitution owed are $500 or less;
the required payment shall not exceed 10% of the total owed:

b) If the fines, costs, restitution owed are more than $500;
the required payment shall not exceed 5% of the total owed of $50 whichever is greater.
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