VIRGINIA:

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE COUNTY OF HANOVER

IN RE: INSTALLMENT PAYMENT AGREEMENT GUIDELINES FOR COURT COSTS,
FINES AND RESTITUTION

Payment Plan Policy

In accordance with Rule 1:24 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, the court adopts the following as a
Payment Plan Policy for the collection of fines, costs and restitution, unless the court orders a specific payment
schedule for restitution as part of the disposition of a criminal case:

1.

Any defendant may enter into either a deferred payment plan, a modified deferred payment plan or
an installment payment plan, as defined below, to pay fines and costs.

“Installment payment plan” is a plan in which the defendant agrees to make monthly or other periodic
payments until the fines and costs are paid in full.

“Deferred payment plan” is a plan in which the defendant agrees to pay the full amount of fines and costs at
the end of its stated term and no installment payments are required.

“Modified deferred payment plan” is a deferred payment plan in which the defendant also agrees to use best
efforts to make monthly or other periodic payments.

For any request made, a defendant shall specify the type of payment plan requested. If a defendant
requests a deferred or modified deferred payment plan, he/she must also specify the desired due date
under the plan.

All fines, costs and restitution that a defendant owes for all cases in this court may be incorporated
into one payment plan, unless otherwise ordered by the court in specific cases. Anyone seeking to set
up a payment plan for more than one case must inform the clerk of his/her desire to include all
outstanding fines, costs and restitution.

At any time during the payment plan, a defendant may request a modification of the plan, which will
be granted based on a good faith showing of need. To request a modification, a defendant must file a
written request detailing the basis for the modification.

After default, any defendant may re-apply to participate in a payment plan and will be permitted to
enter a new payment plan provided he/she makes a down payment. If the fines, costs, and restitution
owed are more than $500, a down payment of $50 is required. If the fines, costs, and restitution
owed are $500 or less, a down payment of 10% of the amount owed is required.

In accordance with Virginia Code Section 19.2-354(A)(ii), the clerk of this court is authorized to
establish and approve individual installment payment agreements, including subsequent payment
agreements, of $50 per month.

Any periodic payment amount of less than $50 per month and any request to waive a required down
payment must be requested in writing and approved by the judge.
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8. Upon request, the court may grant credit toward discharge of fines and costs through the
performance of community service work completed after sentencing. The community service must
be performed (i) before or after imprisonment or (ii) in accordance with the provisions of Virginia
Code Sections 19.2-316.4, 53.1-59, 53.1-60, 53.1-128, 53.1-129 or 53.1-131 during imprisonment.
Community service CANNOT be used to satisfy any portion of restitution, including any interest
owed on a restitution obligation. In accordance with Virginia Code Section 19.2-354 paragraphs (A)
and (C), the hourly amount to be credited toward fines and costs is based on the federal minimum
wage rate. Community service performed in accordance with this policy is in addition to community
service ordered at sentencing.

For community service work performed before or after imprisonment:

a. In order to be given credit for community service a defendant is required to perform
community service for a non-profit or government agency and provide sufficient proof of
work performed and hours completed to the court from the supervising agency on a
document signed by the supervisor. ANY FALSE DOCUMENTATION IS SUBJECT TO
PROSECUTION.

b. To remain eligible for the community service program, the defendant must provide proof of
completed community service every thirty (30) days from entry of the order approving the
request to participate in the community service program.

c. After sixty (60) days of failing to provide proof of completed community service, the
defendant will be removed from the program, and will need to reapply for future
participation. The defendant will not receive credit for community service performed
between the date of last report and the date of reentry into the program. In addition,
collection activity may commence.

For community service work performed during imprisonment:

a. The work must be performed in accordance with the provisions of Virginia Code Sections
19.2-316.4, 53.1-59, 53.1-60, 53.1-128, 531-129 or 53.1-131.

b. The work and rate of pay must be verified by the Virginia Department of Corrections or
local/regional facility.

c. The rate of credit applied will be the federal minimum wage per hour rate, less any hourly
wage received from the Department of Corrections or local/regional facility.

d. Inkeeping with the legislative intent, the court authorizes retroactive application for work
performed during imprisonment that can be verified according to the above guidelines.

A payment plan will be detailed on Form CC-1379 and signed by the defendant. The clerk of this court is ORDERED to
provide each defendant with a written copy of the Payment Plan Policy unless otherwise provided by the court.

Entered this =~ dayonUUvL—- 2021. @ S

Patricia Kelly, Judge \)
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