
POLICY AND ORDER FOR THE GUIDELINES FOR COLLECTIONS OF 
UNPAID FINES AND COSTS FOR THE STAFFORD JUVENILE RELATIONS 

DISTRICT COURT 

Pursuant to sections 19.2-349, 19.2-354, and 19.2-354.1 of the code of Virginia, the 
Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court for the County of Stafford has the following 
guidelines in place regarding the performance of time to pay agreements between the Court 
and debtors: 

1. The Court will assess the specific financial conditions of each debtor before determining a 
reasonable frequency and amount of installment payments, and any required down payment; 
therefore, each debtor is required to complete a Petition for Payment Agreement (DC-211) 
with the Clerk's Office. 

2. A $10.00 Time to Pay fee will be assessed upon entering into the agreement after 90 days 
have passed from the date of disposition. 

3. As a condition of the agreement, the debtor must promptly inform the Court of any change of 
mailing address during the term of the agreement. 

4. The amount(s) listed in this agreement may be administratively amended by the Clerk of this 
Court in the event additional costs should be assessed and if additional costs are assessed, the 
Clerk will forthwith issue a notice to the debtor of the total amount due by first class mail to 
the address of record. 

5. The debtor may request modification of any time to pay agreement, in writing, by filing a 
motion and a DC211 Petition for Payment Agreement. The Court may grant such modification 
based on good faith showing of need. 

6. If the debtor is in default of the time to pay agreement, the account will be referred to 
collections and additional costs will be assessed to the debtor. The court may also intercept 
any tax overpayment owed to the debtor. 

7. Payments received within 10 days of the due date shall be considered timely made. 
8. If the debtor has any other financial obligations owed to other courts, the debtor is required to 

enter into agreements, if necessary, with those courts directly; this agreement applies only to 
court fines/costs owed to the Stafford Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court. 
However, the court will consider other Court debts when establishing a payment plan, in 
determining the specific financial conditions of each debtor. 

9. The Court will accept the performance of community service work as an option to defray fines 
and costs if approved in advance. The Court will not credit community service towards any 
amount owed as restitution, the interest which has accrued on restitution, or any collection fee 
required. Community service hours will be credited in the amount of Virginia minimum wage, 
currently is $12.00 per hour, and the hours must be documented on the agencies organizational 
letter head. 

 


